

2023 Annual Business Meeting

AGENDA

Friday, November 10, 2023, 3:45-4:30 PM CST

1. Call to Order Maryland Pao, MD, FACLP

1.1. Establishment of Quorum

1.2. Minutes of Last Meeting [VOTE]

2. President's Report Maryland Pao, MD, FACLP

2.1. Annual Meeting site selection discussion

2.2. DEI activities update

3. Treasurer's Report Paul Desan, MD, PhD, FACLP

3.1. ACLP status

3.2. ACLP Foundation status

4. Journal Editor's Report Hochang Lee, MD, FACLP

5. Nominating Committee Report [VOTE] Philip Bialer, MD, FACLP

The following slate of candidates for officers and directors has been filed by the Nominating Committee and will be voted on by the membership in attendance:

President-Elect: E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FACLP

Vice President: Paul Desan, MD, PhD, FACLP
Treasurer: Thomas Heinrich, MD, FACLP
Secretary: Ann Schwartz, MD, FACLP

Director: Kewchang Lee, MD, FACLP (first 3-year term)
Director: Brian Bronson, MD FACLP (first 3-year term)

6. Any Other Business

7. Handing over of Gavel Maryland Pao, MD, FACLP / Madeleine Becker, MD, FACLP

8. Adjournment Madeleine Becker, MD, FACLP

ACADEMY OF CONSULTATION-LIAISON PSYCHIATRY

MINUTES 2022 ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING

Friday, November 11, 2022, 4:00-4:45 pm EST

- 1. Call to Order/Establishment of Quorum: Dr. Bialer, president, called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm EST and announced the establishment of a quorum for the conduct of business: As of the date of the meeting, the Academy has a total of 1822 voting members, thereby requiring 183 to establish a quorum to conduct the business of the Academy. 247 proxies were received prior to the meeting; 3 were discarded as incomplete, leaving 244 valid proxy votes. Counting 66 members present and the completed proxy votes received, a quorum for the conduct of the organization's business was established.
- 2. **Minutes**: Dr. Bialer called for approval of the minutes of the November 2021 Annual Business Meeting. Combining 231 proxy votes previously submitted and 60 present voting in favor, the motion to approve the minutes passed. There were 13 abstentions.
- 3. **President's Report**: Dr. Bialer reflected on the past year and thanked everyone for their support during his presidency. Noting the 1300+ registrations, he thanked Dr. Sandra Rackley, chair of the Annual Meeting Program Committee, and all the members of the committee and subcommittees for their excellent work making this year's meeting such a success upon the Academy's return to a live meeting after the pandemic.
 - Dr. Bialer reviewed progress of the Board strategy plan, the development of both the Mentorship Subcommittee and Networking Subcommittee, enhanced collaboration with the APA, activities with the AMA House of Delegates Specialty Services Section, the adoption of a Best Practices Guidelines: Evaluation and Treatment of Depression in Solid Organ Transplant Recipients, ongoing educational and career development webinars and much more.
 - Dr. Bialer concluded his remarks by thanking all ACLP volunteers and members for their support during a year of adversity.
- 4. **Treasurer's Report**: Dr. Brown reported that the Academy is in good financial condition, with total net assets as of September 30 of \$3m. A clean report from independent auditors was received for financial year 2021.
- 5. **Secretary's Report**: Dr. Desan provided a report on the work of the Governance Committee.
- 6. **Membership Report**: Dr. Rabinowitz, chair of the Membership Committee, reported that the Academy now has 1822 members, a very small decrease over 2021 at this same time.

7. **Editor's Report**: Dr. Hochang Lee, editor, reported on the journal's citation impact, usage, manuscript flow, speed of review, and first supplement of annual meeting abstracts.

On behalf of the Board and membership, Dr. Bialer thanked Dr. Lee for his contributions to the journal.

8. **Nominating Committee Report**: Dr. Tiamson-Kassab, committee chair, presented the following slate of candidates for the election:

President-elect: Madeleine Becker, MD, FACLP

Vice President: E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FACLP

Treasurer: Paul Desan, MD, PhD, FACLP Secretary: Thomas Heinrich, MD, FACLP

Board Directors: Amy Bauer, MD, FACLP (second 3-year term)

Leo Pozuelo, MD, FACLP (first 3-year term)

Kewchang Lee, MD, FACLP (to fill unfinished term of 1 year vacated by Dr. Heinrich)

Dr. Bialer called for a vote on the slate of election candidates. Combining 231 proxy votes previously submitted and 65 present voting in favor, the motion to approve the slate of board election candidates passed. There were 11 abstentions and two votes against.

- 9. Old Business/New Business: Dr. Bialer reported that there was no old or new business to discuss.
- 10. Transfer of the Gavel: Dr. Bialer presented a gavel to Dr. Pao to mark her assumption of the office of president and wished her success in the role. Dr. Pao reflected on the achievements and leadership of Dr. Bialer while in office and assured the members present that she would keep the positive momentum going.

Dr. Pao adjourned the meeting at 4:45 pm EST.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul Desan, MD, PhD, FACLP Secretary